Rules by market
The rules a buyer is actually subject to
This product is about a technical standard, so the ISMS control is the anchor and the national instruments are named references. We scanned the available frameworks for the four markets in the order the estate uses: the United States, the European Union, the United Kingdom and Australia. Where a regime is named but not in the public preview, the page says so and does not state its text.
The anchor for every market
ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Annex A 8.24 is the control that asks an organisation to define and apply rules for cryptography and for key management. ISO/IEC 27002:2022 8.24 is the guidance for the same control. A new edition of an algorithm standard is one of the changes those rules have to account for. That is the obligation most buyers actually carry, and it applies in all four markets.
United States
A US buyer usually reaches this amendment through a module validation file or a federal algorithm transition question, not through a certification scheme. The action is to check the module and the claim, and to record the answer.
| Instrument | Status here | Why it matters to this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| NIST SP 800-131A Rev. 2 | named reference, not in the public preview | The transition guidance federal and regulated buyers cite for algorithm strength and key length. It does not name this amendment. |
| FIPS 140-3 | named reference, not in the public preview | The module validation standard a US buyer asks about when a cipher is sold into a regulated market. |
| ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Annex A 8.24 | read here | The control that asks for rules on cryptography and key management, whatever the algorithm standard. |
European Union
An EU buyer meets the amendment through supplier due diligence and, where a scheme applies, through certification evidence. The record names the instruments and does not state their text.
| Instrument | Status here | Why it matters to this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Annex A 8.24 | read here | The ISMS control for cryptography and key management. |
| Regulation (EU) 2019/881 (Cybersecurity Act) | named reference, not in the public preview | The certification framework under which an EU scheme may reference a standard. It does not name this amendment. |
| NIS2 Directive (EU) 2022/2555 | named reference, not in the public preview | The incident and supply chain duties that make a supplier s crypto claim part of due diligence. |
United Kingdom
A UK buyer usually treats the amendment as a supplier and design question, with the ISMS control as the anchor. The record does not state the national guidance.
| Instrument | Status here | Why it matters to this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Annex A 8.24 | read here | The ISMS control, adopted in the UK through the ISO route. |
| NCSC cryptographic guidance | named reference, not in the public preview | The national guidance a UK buyer checks for algorithm and key length expectations. |
| UK GDPR and the Data Protection Act 2018 | named reference, not in the public preview | The security principle that makes encryption an expected control for personal data. |
Australia
An Australian buyer meets the amendment through the privacy and ISMS route, and through supplier questions. The record names the instruments and does not state their text.
| Instrument | Status here | Why it matters to this buyer |
|---|---|---|
| ISO/IEC 27001:2022 Annex A 8.24 | read here | The ISMS control for cryptography and key management. |
| Privacy Act 1988 and the Australian Privacy Principles | named reference, not in the public preview | APP 11 expects reasonable security, which is where encryption evidence is asked for. |
| ACSC cryptographic guidance | named reference, not in the public preview | The national guidance on algorithm selection and key length. |
How to use this page
Pick your market, then pick the instrument that governs you. If the instrument is one we can read, the clause is cited on the unit page. If it is named, the page says so and you should read the instrument itself. The record does not state a regime it does not cover.
Market scan recorded on 20 October 2026. Not legal advice; does not certify.